Press "Enter" to skip to content

Maryland Natural Resources Police Honors Officers at Annual Awards Ceremony

The Maryland Natural Resources Police held its annual award ceremony to recognize the achievements made by conservation law enforcement officers and civilians in 2023. The officers were presented honors by Maryland Department of Natural Resources Sec. Josh Kurtz and Natural Resources Police Acting Lt. Col. Brian Rathgeb. The annual event was held April 3 at Chesapeake College in Wye Mills. “The Department of Natural Resources is proud to recognize the dedicated men and women of the Natural Resources Police who passionately protect and serve our state,” said Sec. Kurtz. “Our officers maintain the highest level of professional standards, integrity, and conduct, and it’s important to recognize those who go above and beyond.” Eleven officers received the Award of Merit – one of the agency’s highest honors – for actions that saved lives on the water and on land: Sgt. John Buchanan, Cpl. Brian Chhaturam, Cpl. Mark Greef, Cpl. Christopher Stancliff, Cpl. Brian Hunt, Acting Sgt. Mark Miller, Officer David Deems, Officer Christian Helwig, Officer Joseph Markiewicz, Officer Nicholas Letts, Officer Morgan Morris, and Officer Andrew Cummins. Buchanan, Stancliff, Greef, Morris, and Helwig were honored for their actions locating and rescuing an injured mountain biker in Patapsco Valley State Park. Hunt, […]

The post Maryland Natural Resources Police Honors Officers at Annual Awards Ceremony appeared first on Southern Maryland News Net.

Source: https://smnewsnet.comNew feed

Be First to Comment

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *