Press "Enter" to skip to content

SMECO Holds 81st Annual Meeting and Announces Election Results

Southern Maryland Electric Cooperative (SMECO) held its 81st Annual Meeting on August 29, 2019, at Middleton Hall in Waldorf. The Board of Directors election was conducted online and by mail prior to the meeting. The following SMECO members were elected to serve on SMECO’s Board for three years: W. Michael Phipps in Calvert County; Gilbert O. Bowling, and Richard A. Winkler in Charles County; James A. Richards in Prince George’s County; and P. Scott White in St. Mary’s County. One bylaw amendment providing that a person’s capital credits can be used to offset arrearages was also included on this year’s ballot, and it passed. This is the third year SMECO’s election was conducted by mail, and, for the first time, members could also vote electronically by casting their ballots online. Ballots were mailed to members on July 22. The deadline for submitting ballots by mail or electronically was August 22. Members who returned their ballots were eligible to win one of 30 electric bill credits of $50 each. More than 7,800 members voted: 6,560 voted by mail and 1,278 voted online. Election results were announced at the meeting. Scott White, Chairman of the SMECO Board of Directors, welcomed SMECO’s members […]

The post SMECO Holds 81st Annual Meeting and Announces Election Results appeared first on Southern Maryland News Net.

Source: https://smnewsnet.comNew feed

Be First to Comment

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    %d bloggers like this: